BURWAY Bowling Club dominated the final stages of the 2019 Flowfit Ludlow and District Bowls League Merit competition as Duncan Pressley lifted the title for the second time.

The semi-finals featured four Burway bowlers, with Pressley going on to beat clubmate and county junior player Harry Parsonage in the final to win his first Merit crown since 2000.

Parsonage led 3-0 early on but Pressley claimed ten straight shots to establish a 13-3 lead in the final of the event, which was held at Cleobury Mortimer Bowling Club.

Youngster Parsonage, who had played in the finals of the All England Junior competition in Cumbria the day before, rallied hard and reduced the deficit to 13-10.

Pressley stretched his advantage to 18-10 and although Parsonage fought back to 20-16 behind, the more experienced man got the shot he needed to claim a 21-16 victory.

Both players had earlier vanquished clubmates in the semi-finals as Parsonage narrowly edged out county senior player Kiah Roberts, while Pressley beat brother-in-law Wayne Rogers.

Parsonage trailed 7-4 and 11-5 before finding a nice little mark over the middle of the green to take a 15-12.

This kicked Roberts into life and he stretched Parsonage into the corners to go 17-15 and 20-16 up but Parsonage showed real character to claim the five shots needed for a 21-20 win.

The other semi-final was more one-sided as Pressley stormed 10-1 ahead after eight ends to establish a lead that proved ultimately unassailable.

Rogers did close the gap to 12-7 but Pressley sprung the jack to win a crucial end and eventually closed out a 21-14 victory.

Altogether, 21 players took part in the competition, with home club Cleobury denied a winner by the elimination of three of their players at the quarter-final stage.


Preliminary Round

Lesley Burnside 21 Terry Clifton 13

Jack Bufton Bye

Chris Cowdell 21 Jim Roberts 6

Kiah Roberts 21 Phil Pack 6

Joe Burnside 21 Jesse James 16

Lauren Burnside 21 Roy Broome 2

First Round

Lesley Burnside 21 Jack Bufton 15

Kiah Roberts 21 Chris Cowdell 12

Lauren Burnside 21 Joe Burnside 20

Harry Parsonage 21 Mark Harris 1

Duncan Pressley 21 Tony Partridge 14

Nick Flatters 21 Steve Burmingham 7

Jolyon Partridge 21 Len Lewis 8

Wayne Rogers 21 Tom Harrington 13


Kiah Roberts 21 Lesley Burnside 10

Harry Parsonage 21 Lauren Burnside 8

Duncan Pressley 21 Nick Flatters 10

Wayne Rogers 21 Jolyon Partridge 19


Harry Parsonage 21 Kiah Roberts 20

Duncan Pressley 21 Wayne Rogers 14


Duncan Pressley 21 Harry Parsonage 16