LUDLOW Golf Club ladies’ captain Lin Thompson made it back-to-back wins as she followed up her success in the Jean & John Moss Trophy to win the Marjorie Wynne Thomas Trophy with 34 points.

Thompson beat Elizabeth Weston into second place by two points with Margaret Gosling third on 30 points, edging out Margaret Leake via countback on the back nine holes.

Elsewhere, in a high-scoring competition the pairing of Phil Norton and John Stewardson won the Herbie Benbow Cup with a superb total of 47 points.

Four pairings, separated only by countbacks, were just one point adrift on 46.

They were Graham Jones and Mike Oliver, Liam Magill and Darren Humphries, David Davies and Aubrey Groom, and Dave Fish and Alan Meyrick, who took second to fifth place respectively.

It was tight at the top in the Past Members Memorial Trophy too.

Phil Roberts and Allen Bushell took the title, their better back nine beating John Adams and Harry Watts into second place, after both pairs returned excellent scores of 45 points.

Taking third, also after a countback, were Andrew MacWhirter and Simon Herdsfield, pushing Darren Humphries and George Watton into fourth place after both pairs scored 43.