TENBURY Wells Snooker Club have taken the Ludlow and District League title to Worcestershire for the first time in more than 20 years.

The team of captain Charlie Fernihough, Ben Tamplin, Jason Palmer and Brett Mackintosh claimed the title to break the Shropshire stronghold on the trophy.

As well as being the first Worcestershire side to be crowned champions in more than two decades, it is only the third time in the league’s 70-year history that the trophy has crossed the border.

Tenbury club chairman Tony Hodgetts said it was a rare and special occasion for the team, and he was very proud of their achievement.

Captain Fernihough said the triumph was one of consistency, adding his team had remained a strong, disciplined outfit in a tough and challenging season.

He added: “We will all savour this triumph and look forward to defending the title next season.”

There was not just one trophy for Tenbury but two, as the pairing of Fernihough and Tamplin also won the district’s doubles knockout Steve Webb Memorial Cup.

This was a particularly poignant triumph for Tenbury as the late Steve Webb not only played for Tenbury but was also Fernihough’s former doubles partner.