THE Woodbees were the big winners as Burgage Bowls League held its annual presentation evening at Brimfield and Little Hereford Sports Club recently.

They claimed the Division One championship and also won a host of other team and individual competitions throughout the course of the campaign.

Woodbees’ Division One triumph marked the fourth season in succession that they have won the top-flight crown, with Teme Valley finishing as runners-up.

The Woodbees completed the league and cup double by winning the Team Knockout too, beating The Temesters in the final.

Indeed, they made it a tremendous treble for the season by also emerging victorious in the Triples competition, overcoming The Buccaneers in the final.

The Woodbees also swept up the men’s singles spoils thanks to Mike Morris, who beat Maurice Powell in the final of that competition.

And in the mixed pairs, the Woodbees duo of Mike and Tessa Morris claimed the title with Colin and Margaret Leake finishing as runners-up.

In other awards made on the night, The Michaelmicks took home the Division Two crown after finishing the season as champions, ahead of runners-up The Temesters.

In the ladies’ singles final, Su Edwards beat Margaret Leake to emerge as the champion.

Margaret made it three runners-up finishes in the ladies’ pairs as she and Heather Phelps lost out to winners Tessa Morris and Ingrid Powell.

In the men’s pairs, Paul Cook and Tony Holland claimed the trophy, with the duo of George Hadley and Maurice Powell coming runners-up.

The other two awards came at either end of the experience scale as, first, Keith Bunn took home the Bernard James Cup, 24 years since he last won the trophy.

And, lastly, the Burgage League’s inaugural Juniors Cup was won by Niall Morris, with his sister Siobhan in second place.