LUDLOW Mayor Tim Gill is guaranteed a place on Ludlow Town Council.

Despite attempts to get more people interested in becoming councillors there will be a vote in just one of the wards.

Most of the existing town councillors will be returning although some are stepping down.

These include former Mayor Colin Sheward who is fighting the Ludlow East constituency on the County Council.

Long serving town councillor Graham Perks continues in the role and will be hoping also to be elected to the unitary council, in a contest that will put him up against sitting Shropshire councillor Andy Boddington, who will be joining the town council. Vivienne Parry continues on the town council and hopes to be returned as Shropshire councillor for Ludlow south.

On Ludlow town council it will be a case of two from three in Bingewood ward where sitting councillors Rose Jones and Jim Smithers are challenged by Alan Tapley.

In Clee view both Colin Sheward and Rob Naysmith are standing down and with no candidates their places are likely to be filled by co-option.

The Corve ward sees Glen Ginger and Robin Pote both returned unopposed.

In Gallows Bank, Graeme Perks, Andy Boddington and Viv Parry are unopposed with Adrian Cobley not seeking re-election.

The Hayton ward sees Erica Garner unopposed, leaving a vacancy because Mark Clarke is stepping down from the council.

Dianne Lyle and Sean O’Neil are both returned unopposed for the Rocksring ward.

In Whitcliffe ward the Mayor Tim Gill and Philip Adams are returned unopposed.

Ludlow Town Council is responsible for a range of services including running the market, looking after public toilets and play areas.

It also manages and maintains the cemetery in Henley Road and plays a role in some of the events such as the medieval fayre as well as marketing the town.