THE Ludlow Museum at the Buttercross is getting ready to reopen and the town council that runs the venue is recruiting a museum assistant.

But there is no date as the new member of staff has not yet been appointed.

It will enable locals and visitors to find out more about the history of the town from exhibits in the iconic building that was at one time the town’s butter market and more recently the offices of Ludlow Town Council until a roof collapse that has led to a major repair and refurbishment.

This building was designed by William Baker of Audlem and was built in 1743–46 to replace the 16th Century New House, where the Corporation held its meetings. It was originally the site of the High Cross, which was the official centre of the town.

The building was originally constructed of Cornbrook Sandstone from up on Clee Hill, a few miles to the east, but later partly rebuilt using Grinshill Sandstone from north of Shrewsbury, some 40 miles to the north. More recent repairs have utilised Carboniferous Sandstone.