ORGANISER Matt Porter says he is thrilled Ben Griffiths led the Woodstock South Shropshire Twenty20 League representative team to a debut triumph.

James Gerritse, Sam Alford and Dylan Grinker all starred to help the league side secure a seven-wicket success against the Shrewsbury and District Evening League.

Not even Ludlow Cricket Club brothers Bryn Simmons (56 not out) and Ian Simmons (46) could inspire the Shrewsbury and District Evening League to victory.

“The Shrewsbury Evening League has six divisions and 36 teams so to beat them was a fantastic achievement,” said Porter, who was on holiday in France.

“I haven’t been able to track down the scorebook yet but we have had some excellent feedback.

“It sounded like people enjoyed the game at Ludlow very much and cannot wait for the next representative match.”

All-rounder Chris Ammonds and Ryan Lockley will not be available for the Woodstock League’s match against the Broseley Bash League XI at Ludlow on August 7.

Cleobury Mortimer’s Ben Griffiths captained the Woodstock side, who restricted the Shrewsbury and District Evening League to 146-5 off their 15 eight-ball overs.

Gerritse was the home side’s most successful bowler, taking 3-22 off three overs in last Thursday’s match.

Alford made 50, Grinker (31 not out), Glenn Whittaker, 24 and Lockley, 17, as the Woodstock League roared to 150-3 from 11.1 overs.

Tenbury’s Jonathan Pearson said: “It’s nice to play with different people and we don’t normally have a chance to play for a representative team.

“It’s great we’ve been picked for the next match too – it sounds like the organisers want to keep a winning team.”

Meanwhile, Ludlow Cricket Club were due to face Tenbury last night in the semi-finals of the domestic Woodstock competition.

Clee Hill were due to face Dales in the other semi-final tie, with the final scheduled for next Wednesday at Ludlow, starting at 6pm.

A Champions Day will take place at Ludlow on September 7.

This will involve the winners of the South Shropshire Twenty20 League, Broseley Bash winners, winners of the Shrewsbury Evening League Division One and the Division One runners-up.