CAPTAINS will be discussing candidates for the team tonight (Friday) to represent the Woodstock South Shropshire Twenty20 League in their inaugural match later this month.

Ludlow all-rounder Chris Ammonds and Cleobury’s Adrian Meredith did their chances no harm with match-winning displays for their clubs last week.

The captains’ meeting takes place tonight at Ludlow Cricket Club at 7.30pm ahead of the league’s maiden representative match against the Shrewsbury and District Evening League on July 17.

And the second representative match will take place at Broseley Bash League XI, also at Ludlow Cricket Club, on August 7.

Ammonds, a former Shobdon player, hammered a quick-fire 52 not out and snapped up 2-19 in Ludlow’s 38-run over Dales in an exciting match last week.

Willie Wood top scored for Ludlow, blasting 53, while Ammonds, Bryn Simmons (34 not out), Richard Taylor (27) and Glen Whittaker (23) also propelled Ludlow to 200-3.

Despite 32 from Jon Jones and contributions from Lee Alford (29), Russell Parker (23), Marcus Price (22), Ben Bower (20) and Hary Ellis (10), Dales were restricted to 162-8.

Opener Meredith clouted an unbeaten 74 in Cleobury’s nail-biting five-wicket win over Ludlow Colts with just one ball to spare

In reply to Ludlow Colts’ 157-5, Meredith led Cleobury’s assault and was backed up by David Shorter (25) and Ben Griffiths (20). Joe Webb (2-20) and Keanu Cooper (2-19) bowled well for the Ludlow.

Earlier, Webb (36), Sam Roberts (33) and Luke Miles (31) starred for Ludlow, while Courtney Cooper (23 not out) and Keanu Cooper (14) also weighed in.

League organiser Matt Porter, from Ludlow Cricket Club, has confirmed this season’s Woodstock South Shropshire Twenty 20 League final will take place on July 30.

And he added that a Champions’ Day is being held at Ludlow on Sunday, September 7.

The Champions’ Day will involve the winners of the South Shropshire Twenty20 League, Broseley Bash, Division One of the Shrewsbury League and the team finishing runner-up in Division One of the Shrewsbury League.

Porter said the Champions’ Day will rotate around the county from Ludlow, Broseley and the winning team of the Shrewsbury League.