A PLEA for more people to get involved in the running of Ludlow has fallen on deaf ears.

The call from the People’s Alliance for Ludlow for more people to stand in the forthcoming Town and Shropshire Council elections has largely been ignored.

All three current Liberal Democrat Ludlow members on Shropshire Council will be hoping to be returned to Shire Hall on Thursday, May 4.

Andy Boddington will be contesting Ludlow North that he won in a by-election when the Conservative Rosanna Taylor-Smith moved away to live in Kent.

He faces a challenge from Simon Harris (Conservative), Christopher Woodward who is flying the flag for UKIP and Linda Senior of the Green Party.

In Ludlow South, Vivienne Parry, who won the seat from the Conservative Martin Taylor-Smith four years ago, will face Fiona Pizzoni who will be trying to regain it for the Tories while Michael Penn is the Labour hopeful.

It is the three traditional parties that will contest Ludlow East. Ludlow’s deputy mayor Colin Seward is the Labour candidate and Patricia Price the Conservative. They will be looking to unseat Tracey Huffer.

In Clee, Tracey Huffer’s husband Richard will be hoping to be returned for the Liberal Democrats against the Conservative James Wheeler.

It was on Ludlow Town Council that the People’s Alliance for Ludlow group were hoping to encourage new candidates but with 13 candidates for 15 seats there will need to be co-options to the council after the elections.

Paul Draper, who has served three years as Ludlow Mayor will not be seeking re-election to the town council and former deputy mayor and a publican in the town Paul Kemp is also standing down as is James Newbold, another former mayor.

Elsewhere in south Shropshire, Jonny Keeley (Liberal Democrat) who was elected in a by-election last year is hoping for a return to Shropshire Council against a challenge from David Luckhurst (Green) and the Conservative Christopher Tyler.

In Church Stretton and Craven Arms, where there are two seats, the Conservatives David Evans and Lee Chapman are seeking a return in the face of opposition from the Liberal Democrats Steve Jones and Sam Jones and Steve Hale and Hilary Wendt of the Green Party.

Meanwhile, in Cleobury Mortimer, Conservative Gwilym Butler faces a challenge from Liberal Democrats Bret Jenkins and Lucinda Timmins with John Rogers the Labour hopeful and Doreen Shineton standing on an Independent and Health Concern Platform.

In Clun, Nigel Harton, who has been the Liberal Democrat leader on Shropshire Council, is challenged by the Conservative Sarah Smith.

There will be elections in just two wards on Ludlow Town Council, one of which is in Whitcliffe where Tim Gill and veteran councillor and former mayor Jim Smithers face a challenge from Nicola Paton for the two vacancies.

The other contest will be in Hayton ward where voters will select two from three candidates, Mark Clarke, Erica Garner and Kevin Newbold.

Rose Jones will be returned unopposed in Bringewood ward as will Colin Seward in Clee View, Glen Ginger is unopposed in Corve ward as is Robin Pote who will be new to the town council.

In Gallows Bank, Graeme Perks and Adrian Cobley are unopposed and Vivienne Parry fills an existing vacancy.